DUI is taken seriously in the state of Texas. However, you need not resign yourself to a DUI conviction. Your best option if you run afoul of the law on a DUI-related matter is to call a San Antonio criminal defense attorney and follow their advice.
The 4 things you should know about DUI in Texas are:
1. You can lose your license
2. You can go to jail
3. You can be heavily fined
4. You can beat the charge
A first time DUI conviction may result in the following punishments:
• The suspension of your license for up to one year
• 180 days in jail and community service
• A $2,000 fine
• The confiscation of your car or the installation of an ignition interlock device
• Mandatory alcohol education and treatment
If your blood alcohol content exceeds .15 or you had a passenger below the age of 15 in the car at the time of the stop, you are likely to receive an even greater penalty.
A second DUI conviction may result in the following penalties:
• A 2-year license suspension
• Up to a year in jail
• A $4,000 fine
• The impounding or confiscation of your vehicle
• Mandatory alcohol education or treatment
Penalties for subsequent DUI convictions are even more severe, with fines going up to $10,000 for a third offense. Additionally, a DUI conviction will stay on your record forever, which can negatively impact your career and finances. It can even limit your housing choices, as many high-end apartment complexes do criminal background checks as part of their screening process.
If you have been stopped and arrested for DUI, you can fight the charge. A San Antonio criminal defense lawyer from the Law Office of Reynaldo P. Morin can help you.
A criminal defense lawyer in San Antonio Texas will scrutinize the circumstances under which you were stopped. If your Fourth Amendment rights were violated, your lawyer may have grounds to get the case dismissed. A criminal defense attorney in San Antonio Texas will also contest the reliability of the test that was used to determine your BAC.