Penalties for the First DWI Offense
A first DWI offense in Texas is a misdemeanor, which could subject you to a fine of up to $2,000 and/or a jail sentence up to 180 days. Your BAC would need to be above .08 but under .15. If you were driving with a child in your vehicle at the time of your arrest, your jail sentence will be between six months and two years plus a fine of up to $10,000. This is a felony offense.
Sentencing for a First Offense
It’s possible that you could receive probation for your first offense, but another possibility is that you will be sent to jail for three days. The penalty could also be community service.
Sometimes, the matter doesn’t end with your initial sentence. The judge can also require you to attend a rehabilitation program that the state approves. If the judge determines that you are having problems with alcohol, you may be ordered to attend a full rehabilitation program.
Hiring a DWI Attorney
Being arrested for a DWI can have a devastating impact on your personal, professional and financial life, so you need a Nacogdoches DWI lawyer to mitigate the consequences if at all possible. If you fail to hire a DWI attorney, you will be in danger of losing your job, custody of your children and even your professional licenses. A DWI attorney will work to ensure that your sentence isn’t as harsh as it can be. The state of Texas takes DWI offenses very seriously, so your DWI attorneys needs to be just as serious in your defense.
You would also be in danger of having your license revoked, but you will be able to schedule a hearing on this matter. For this purpose, you will need a DWI attorney in Nacogdoches County Texas. Contact us today at the Law Office of Reynaldo P. Morin if you or a loved one has been arrested on a DWI charge.