Drug Possession Laws in Texas.
Possessing one gram of cocaine is a felony in Texas, and it can mean that you may have to serve a prison sentence of six months to two years. If this is your first offense, the prosecution will recommend probation.
Possessing less than two ounces of marijuana is classified as a Class B misdemeanor. You could be subject to a 180-day jail sentence or as much as a $2,000 fine. In some cases, people receive both penalties. After you are finished with your sentence, the corrections department is not finished with you because you will have to serve two years of probation.
Possessing less than one gram of methamphetamine can get you a two-year prison sentence and a fine of as much as $10,000.
If you are convicted of possessing larger quantities of cocaine, marijuana or meth, the penalties will be even higher.
If you have been charged with drug possession, you must speak with a San Antonio criminal defense attorney today. The penalties are extremely harsh for drug possession in Texas, and it takes an experienced and knowledgeable San Antonio criminal defense lawyer to make sure that the legal system is not trampling all over your rights. Even though you may have been arrested on a drug possession charge, the courts and the prosecution cannot treat you as if you have already been convicted. A criminal defense lawyer in San Antonio Texas will represent you in court so that this doesn’t happen.
Call Us at the Law Office of Reynaldo P. Morin…
If you were charged with drug possession and you are concerned about what is going to happen next, contact us at the Law Office of Reynaldo P. Morin. Our criminal defense attorney in San Antonio Texas will review your case in an initial consultation at no cost to you. Contact us today.